Vendor hubSteward of Maven CentralTechBag Intel Hub

Sonatype

The people who run Maven Central, selling the repository, the firewall and the SCA— with a free edition to start and published prices for most of the rest. This hub is your complete intel file.

3 intel pages insideGartner Leader, SSCS 2026Hyderabad Innovation Center

Buy through TechBag

Same software. Better outcome — at a lower cost.

Right-fit discoveryBest price & discountsImplementation & rolloutRenewals & licence mgmtTier-1 support desk
Book a discovery call →

Free · 15 minutes

Trusted by 500+ enterprises across India

The company, at a glance

RootsApache Maven; Maven Central
OwnershipVista · CEO Bhagwat Swaroop
Reach70% of the Fortune 100 (Jul 2025)
RecognitionGartner SSCS Leader 2026
IndiaHyderabad Innovation Center

Quick answer

Sonatype (Fulton, Maryland; steward of Maven Central, begun by core Apache Maven contributors) sells the Nexus Repository manager, Repository Firewall to block malicious packages at the proxy, and Sonatype Guide — its AI-era software composition analysis, which new customers now buy in place of Lifecycle and SBOM Manager. Gartner named it a Leader in its first Magic Quadrant for Software Supply Chain Security (June 2026). Most tier prices are published. Read more ↓ Show less ↑
The portfolio

Three intel pages. One repository at the centre.

What a new buyer can purchase from Sonatype today — every linked card is a full intel page, from the repository to the SCA that replaced Lifecycle.

Sonatype sells across 3 of the products TechBag carries in DevOps. The DevOps guide shows how the category splits and which part is yours. →

The thesis

Why “Maven Central” is the whole story

Most software is assembled from open-source components pulled from public registries, and the registry is where malicious packages arrive. Sonatype bet on owning the point where components enter— the repository, the firewall in front of it and the intelligence behind both — from the company that has maintained Maven Central since 2008.

01
The provenance

Maven Central

Sonatype maintains the largest Java open-source repository, and moved all publishing to the Central Publisher Portal in 2025.

02
One control plane

Nexus One

The umbrella launched in November 2025 over Repository, Firewall and Guide — a name for the platform, not a separate licence.

03
One data source

Intelligence

Sonatype's vulnerability and malware research feeds the firewall's block decisions and Guide's version advice alike.

04
The air-gapped route

SAGE

A bundle of the self-hosted products plus a data service for networks with no internet — how regulated estates run it.

Start with Nexus Repository; the Firewall guards what it proxies and Guide governs what you ship.

The trophy wall

Peer & market recognition

Every claim on this hub traces to one of these public signals.

Gartner 2026

Leader — Software Supply Chain Security

the first edition, 18 June 2026

Forrester Q4 2024

Leader — SCA Software Wave

also a Leader in Q2 2023

Maven Central

Steward

the largest Java open-source repository

Jul 2025

70% of the Fortune 100

Sonatype's own figure at the time

India

Hyderabad Innovation Center

opened June 2025, 200+ staff

Ownership

Vista Equity Partners

since 2019; revenue not disclosed

By the numbers

The company in six figures

2026
Leader in Gartner's first Magic Quadrant for Software Supply Chain Security
— Gartner
70%
of the Fortune 100, by Sonatype's July 2025 count
— Sonatype
20+ formats
in Nexus Repository, from Maven to Hugging Face
— Sonatype
$1,950/year
Nexus Repository Pro Cloud, plus consumption
— Sonatype pricing
200+ staff
at the Hyderabad Innovation Center
— Sonatype
3 products
Repository, Firewall and Guide for new buyers
— Sonatype

See the platform, hear the pitch

Sonatype (official)·OSS Academy

How to Migrate Nexus Repository OSS to Community Edition

From the old OSS edition to Community Edition.

Sonatype (official)·Demo

Secure Your Containers with Sonatype Repository Firewall

The firewall on container images.

The market maps

Where Sonatype sits — the grids

Two company-level views you won’t find on any vendor site — tap any dot for the rationale. The category-level grid lives on the product page.

Grid 01 · The portfolio

Sonatype Across Its Solution Areas

Each dot is a Sonatype solution area: competitive position vs category momentum.

Emerging betsCrown jewelsSteady nicheAnchor strengths
Repository managementSonatype

Nexus Repository; free edition to Pro.

Grid 02 · The industry

Repository Depth × Supply-Chain Controls

How deep the repository is vs how much supply-chain control — blocking, SCA, policy — sits on top of it.

Controls without a repositoryRepository plus controlsStorage onlyRepository first
SonatypeSonatype

Repository plus firewall plus SCA, Maven Central roots.

Positions are TechBag’s illustrative synthesis of public review-platform standings and vendor documentation — not a reproduction of any analyst graphic. Verify before relying on it.

Track 01 · Beginner guides

New to this? Learn it properly.

Zero-jargon starting points, in reading order. Each links into the deep education on the product page.

Interactive · 30 seconds

Where should you start with Sonatype?

Answer three questions; we’ll point you at the right starting product. No email required — this isn’t that kind of quiz.

1. What is forcing the decision?

2. Who is asking for it?

3. What do you already run?

The acronym decoder

Every term on these pages, in one place
Sonatype
Software supply chain company in Fulton, Maryland; steward of Maven Central.
Maven Central
The largest Java open-source repository, maintained by Sonatype.
Nexus Repository
Sonatype's repository manager, free Community Edition or Pro.
Community Edition
The free, self-hosted Nexus Repository, capped at 40,000 components.
Proxy repository
A cached copy of a public registry such as npm or Maven Central.
Repository Firewall
Blocks or quarantines risky packages at the proxy, before download.
SCA
Software composition analysis: finding risk in open-source dependencies.
Sonatype Guide
Sonatype's SCA product for new buyers, including AI assistant integration.
Lifecycle
Sonatype's former SCA product; existing customers only.
SBOM
Software bill of materials — the list of components inside a release.
MCP
Model Context Protocol: how Guide feeds package advice to AI coding assistants.
SAGE
Sonatype's air-gapped bundle for networks with no internet access.
Track 02 · Buying guides

Buy it like you’ve done this before

The procurement playbook TechBag runs with IT buyers — steps, licensing cheat-sheet, and the pitfalls that cost quarters.

01

Count components before relying on free

Community Edition pauses new components past 40,000 or 100,000 requests a day. Measure your estate before building on it.

02

Choose cloud or self-hosted Pro

Pro Cloud is $1,950 a year plus consumption over 25 GB; Pro Self-Hosted is $7,500 a year with 50K components included.

03

Place the firewall where downloads happen

On non-Nexus repositories, Firewall Pro handles npm, Maven, PyPI and NuGet; the self-hosted edition covers more and runs air-gapped.

04

Buy Guide, not Lifecycle

New customers purchase Sonatype Guide for SCA, policy and SBOMs. Lifecycle is for existing customers adding licences.

05

Get storage in writing

Sonatype's docs list Mumbai and Hyderabad storage regions for Nexus Repository Cloud. Confirm them for your tenant, in the contract.

06

Price the platform together

Repository, Firewall and Guide share one intelligence source. TechBag models the mix and quotes in INR with GST.

The licensing cheat-sheet

ProductLicensing modelHow you enterBest for
Nexus RepositoryFree edition, or Pro per yearPro Cloud $1,950/yr + usage · $7,500/yr self-hostedOne package cache
Repository FirewallPer year; self-hosted by quoteFirewall Pro $4,800/yearBlock malicious packages
Sonatype GuideCredits per year; Enterprise quoteFree · Pro $1,200/yearSCA for new buyers

Annual tiers with published prices for most products; Enterprise and self-hosted Firewall by quote — TechBag models the mix and quotes in INR with GST.

Five pitfalls that cost buyers quarters

1

Building on the free edition's old limits

Community Edition's caps fell to 40,000 components and 100,000 requests a day in December 2025. Past them, new components pause.

2

Buying Lifecycle as a new customer

Sonatype sells SCA to new buyers as Guide. A quote for Lifecycle means an existing contract, or an out-of-date one.

3

Putting Firewall Pro in front of Nexus

Firewall Pro is built for repositories other than Nexus. Nexus estates, or air-gapped ones, need the self-hosted Firewall.

4

Reading a region as residency

Mumbai and Hyderabad appear in Sonatype's cloud storage docs. That is not a written commitment — put storage in the contract.

5

Mixing up the analyst years

Gartner SSCS Leader is 2026; the Forrester SCA Wave Leader is Q4 2024. Neither report says more than 'a Leader'.

Skip the homework entirely

Bring your requirements and current tool bills — a TechBag advisor models the whole decision for you.

Book a discovery call →
FAQ

Questions buyers ask about Sonatype

A software supply chain company based in Fulton, Maryland, begun by core contributors to Apache Maven and still the steward of Maven Central. CEO Bhagwat Swaroop took over in July 2025; Vista Equity Partners has owned it since 2019. It is private and does not disclose revenue. It sells Nexus Repository, Repository Firewall and Sonatype Guide.

Ready to shortlist Sonatype?

Open any of the three intel pages for the deep dive, or let a TechBag advisor build the case with you — component counts, edition and firewall scoping, quotes, trials, GST invoicing and lifecycle support included.

Stats, positions and figures are illustrative syntheses of public materials; verify before purchase.